21 November 2011

Michael Shaw continued his domination of the Radical Clubman Cup at the NSW SuperSports event at Wakefield Park on Saturday, 19th November.

Well ahead on the point-score leading into Round 9 of the Radical Clubman Cup, Shaw was unphased in producing some very fast and consistent driving.

At the prize giving ceremony there was a hint of his desires to go after the Radical Australia Cup prize in 2012.  Judging by his racing in the 2011 RCC he is very much a contender to take out that championship and first prize which is a fully funded race seat at the Radical European Masters round in 2013.

Championship podium positions for second and third were still up for grabs going into the final round.  Peter Opie was place 2nd but didn't contest the round leaving a four way battle between Phil Anseline, Richard Bloomfield, Steve Shelley and Greg Smith.

Thanks to Richard Crawshay from SuperSports, the event was a one-day Enduro format however the benefits of a one-day race were counterbalanced by some very hot weather and an oil spill on track as the SuperSports category went first up on Saturday morning for a 15-minute qualification session.  Those who failed to turn up Friday to get reacquainted to the tight and technical Wakefield Park paid the price of slower times and a few off track excursions.

Race 1 was a 15-minute sprint with Michael Shaw dominating with a strong second place from Steve Shelley.  Bloomfield and Smith had a great battle all race with position changes a couple of times under good clean racing conditions.  Phil Anseline continued to show off his synchronised driving skills.

Race 2 presented drivers with the longest ever continuous stint of driving.  A 35-minute Enduro without pit stop, as the last race of the day, in 30 degree plus celsius conditions.  Drivers with cool suits were certainly advantaged.

Richard Bloomfield and Steve Shelley were on each others tail all race long swapping positions for 30 odd laps, with Shelley’s recent Wakefield 300 experience and some consistent fast driving he was placed 3rd Radical home.  Chris Medland and Nic Stavropoulos returned to Sydney early leaving Garth 'Stig' Walden to hop behind the wheel of Medland's chrome wrapped car, to start from the rear of grid for a non-championship run.  As expected he sliced through the field working his way up ten places in the first lap.  Walden was second behind Shaw.

Despite only having to finish the race to take second place in the championship, Smith went off the circuit on the opening lap and then battled with Anseline for 22 laps before again spinning.  The heat and distance of the race was taking its toll. 

Peter White raced fast once he mastered the start.  George Pethard was a model of consistency in his beautifully turned out NEVCO liveried car.  Car-Fashion award went to Bloomfield in his newly liveried ‘Okey Dokey’ car.  Sue Hughes pitted for a new tyre and was determined in her catch up laps.

Results for Round 9 were Shaw, Shelley and Bloomfield.  For the 2011 Championship placegetters are Phil Anseline who shark-nosed into 3rd place by one point over Peter Opie.  Greg Smith got a "Stephen Bradbury" 2nd place by falling over the line.  The MoComm Driver Excellence award went to George Pethard.  Gerry Murphy from MoComm has donated a cool suit for the yet to be announced winner of the Series Driver Excellence award.  That will be presented by Gerry and Glenn Matthews from ARDC at the Gala Day on 1st December.

Thanks to Mike Navybox for the use of his showroom where the BBQ and awards ceremony was held.  Congratulations to Navybox School of Motorsport for taking out the Radical Clubman Cup Championship ably assisting the team of Michael Shaw and Team Manager, Phil Shaw.

Photo Gallery
Click on an image above to view the complete gallery