Radical Clubman Cup: Round 5 - Eastern Creek
19 June 2011

Shaws makes a hat trick of Radical Clubman Cup round wins!


A superb crisp winter’s morning greeted the thirteen competitors for Round 5 of the Radical Clubman Cup at Eastern Creek.  The fifteen-minute qualifying session saw drivers a little tentative following 9 degree morning temperatures and a corresponding cold track.  It wasn’t long before times were falling to the low one-minute thirty-twos as driver acclimatised.  At session’s end, it was Peter Opie on pole with a 1:30.8, just pipping Neale Muston’s 1:31.08.  The next six cars were within one second of each other with Peter Johnston, Simon Haggarty, Greg Smith, Richard Bloomfield and Steve Shelley filling the next spots.  Tony Haggarty grabbed ninth just ahead of first time Radical racer Nathan Brumby followed by Phil Anseline, Sue Hughes and George Davis.



Race 1

It’s becoming a habit for Muston to rocket off the start, and yet again he didn’t disappoint.  He led Opie into turn 1, with Smith and Simon Haggarty nose-to-tail in third and fourth.  Anseline was quick off the start, thanks to his new tyres, and was harrying Johnston and Bloomfield with Shelley and Tony Haggarty in close company. Brumby suffered excess wheel-spin off the line and dropped four places but had the bit between his teeth as he pursued the closely-bunched group ahead.  Michael Shaw missed qualifying thanks to a university exam so started rear of grid.  By the end of lap 1 he had made up five places and was flying.  He and Bloomfield had a humdinger until Shaw got by on lap 7.  He picked up Smith on the last corner to grab fourth place in a fine drive.  Simon Haggarty pipped Bloomfield by half a second to grab sixth.  The race win went to the dominant Neale Muston taking Opie by two seconds and posting the fastest lap of the race.



Race 2

Great weather greeted the drivers again for Sunday’s racing.  When the lights went out, Opie suffered another poor start, with Smith and Shaw jumping him off the line.  Unfortunately Steve Shelley had a slide at Turn 5 on lap one.  The closely-following Peter Johnston was left with nowhere to go and tagged Steve – a pity as Johnston had a great start.  The incident brought out the safety car for four of the remaining six laps.   When the green flag fell for the two lap sprint, it was Shaw again who took the win, with Smith managing to holdout Opie by one-tenth of a second.  Simon Haggarty was followed closely by Richard Bloomfield for 4th and 5th, while Phil Anseline and Tony Haggarty crossed the line next.  Sue Hughes improved from her 10th place start to grab 8th, followed by George Davis and Nathan Brumby. 


Race 3

Regrettably an incident in the supporting race prior to the Radical Clubman Cup race 3 forced the cancellation of the remainder of all racing.  Accordingly no points were awarded.


This meant the round honours went to Michael Shaw with 28 points, with Peter Opie in second on 26 points and Greg Smith with 24 points.  The MoComm Drivers Excellence Award was taken out by a fast and consistent Tony Haggarty.


Next round is 19th August at Eastern Creek.

Overall points table results from Radical Clubman Cup, Round 5:

  • Michael Shaw - 28
  • Peter Opie - 26
  • Greg Smith - 24
  • Simon Haggarty - 21
  • Richard Bloomfield - 19
  • Phil Anseline - 16
  • Neale Muston - 16
  • Tony Haggarty - 13
  • Sue Hughes - 10
  • Nathan Brumby - 9
  • Peter Johnston - 8
  • George Davis - 8
  • Steve Shelley - 6
Photo Gallery
Click on an image above to view the complete gallery