Radical Back to Phillip Island - RAC Round 6
07 October 2014

Radical returned to Phillip Island for round 6 of the Radical Australia Cup and whilst the grid numbers were a little reduced the racing was, as usual spectacular. Phillip Island is tailor made for Radical offering sweeping high speed turns in amongst some of the best scenery from a race circuit viewpoint in the country.

Leading the charge again were the two outright leaders of the pointscore which can be won by either an SR8 or SR3 Tim Berryman ( SR8) and Michael Shaw( SR3), Berryman went to the Island with a six point advantage. As usual 2013 pointscore winner Neale Muston would be there to take as many wins as possible however it did not quite go to plan..

Absent from this round were John Corbett (car repairs from the last SMP round prevented Johns car being ready) and Peter White in his SR8 leaving the SR8 runners down to Berryman, Muston and Chris Medland. For the SR3 class the usual contenders were all back looking to bank as many points as possible to reduce the margin to SR3 leader and second in the overall pointscore, Michael Shaw.  SR8 Runner Greg Smith moved into an SR3 this round along with the other regular SR3 runners including Kim Burke, Peter Paddon, Rowan Ross, Oliver Smith, and  Simon & Tony Haggarty. Also Joining this round was Track Day regular Andy Plummer. Locals John Morriss, Robert Baird and Andrew Richmond completed the SR3 runners.


Friday was a busy day for the teams with Practice One commencing on a cold and wet circuit at 9.30am, Muston topped the time sheet from Tim Berryman and Michael Shaw however the conditions were tough going for most. P2 was not as wet with a dry line emerging at the end of the session and the order was unchanged. Teams were now focussed on the Saturday qualifying session which the forecast was predicting would be dry.

Qualifying One  

True to the forecast the Radicals were greeted with a dry but cool track for Q1. It took some time to get the tyres up to temperature and it was Tim Berryman who posted the fastest lap on lap 5 posting a 1.27.16, with a couple of minutes remaining Neale Muston struck back with a 1.26.85 to claim pole from Tim Berryman followed by Chris Medland in the only remaining SR8. The SR3 competition was tight as it usually is with Peter Paddon on top posting a 1.32.24 with Michael Shaw and Kim Burke only a few tenths behind. Oliver Smith was keen to get out in qualifying given he had missed Friday practice due to work commitments, however found the tyre wall on his out lap caught out by cold tyres, the good news was the car would be repaired in time for Q2.

Qualifying Two

With rain threatening, teams were quick to bank a fast time. Neale Muston was straight on the pace at lap 1 however it all came to an abrupt end on lap 2 with Muston finding the tyre wall at Lukey heights, this prompted a red flag and tyre wall repairs which turned out to be a bigger job than expected and as a result the session was cancelled with officials calling it a no result session.

Race One

Race 1 was the first of the two 45 Minute Radical races for the weekend with pole position being adjusted to Tim Berryman in the absence of Q1 pole setter Neale Muston, sadly Neal’s car could not be repaired in time so he would be a nonstarter. It was a clean rolling start and as Berryman led easily from lap one, followed by the SR8 of Medland. Behind them the SR3 battle was fierce, as usual. Following the compulsory Pit stops the order for the SR8 class remained, however the SR3 class leader was now Oliver Smith which was incredible given he had started rear of grid. Oliver was followed by  Michael Shaw, John Morriss and Rob Baird who was showing a great turn in speed, at the end the order remained the same with the only non-finisher being Andrew Richmond.  

Race Two

After a quick turnaround from Race 1, Race 2 produced another clean rolling start with Tim Berryman taking control from the first corner. The SR3 battle continued to be the main focus with Michael Shaw showing he was out for as many points as he could muster. Rowan Ross was having a great run in the top ten until he found himself on the slippery grass at Lukey heights resulting in light contact with the tyre wall which is sadly where his car would stay for the duration of the race. On lap 19 and after Tony Haggarty had been in pit lane to remove a Shannon’s sign his car had acquired, he and Greg Smith made contact at Honda resulting in both cars being parked. Compulsory pit stops were mostly trouble free other than for Chris Medland who had starter motor issues and had to be bump started to get back on track. The action continued right to the end with Robert Baird who was staring an outright 3 rd place and 2 nd in SR3 class honours, received a black flag for passing on the restart. Rob was shattered, but annoyed as he was he also knew he had put on a great performance and was competitive. The order in the end was Berryman from Shaw and Paddon for outright honours and for the SR3 class it was Shaw, Paddon and a quick finishing and ever consistent Kim Burke.

Thanks go to our series partners including First Neon, Youngcare, Dunlop and Energia Australia for their ongoing support of the Radical Category. Round 7 of the Radical Australia Cup will be at Sydney Motorsport Park for more details visit www.radicalaustralia.com.au or the Shannon’s Nationals event website www.thenationals.com.au

SR3 Class 

1st Michael Shaw

2nd Peter Paddon

3rd Kim Burke

SR8 Class

1st Tim Berryman

2nd Chris Medland

3rd Neale Muston

Meeting Pointscore


for further information contact Rod Wilson rod@radicalaustralia.com.au

Photo Gallery
Click on an image above to view the complete gallery