26 August 2014

An entry list of 20 Radicals added a new chapter to the growth of Radical Sportscars in Australia as the series had their debut as a major support category to V8 Supercar at Sydney Motorsport Park on the weekend. SMSP is also the headquarters for Radical Australia so the drivers were all on very familiar turf for round 5 of the Radical Australia Cup.
The big news for the category was that series leader Tim Berryman would be in a new car for this round. Tim jumped at the opportunity to update his current Radical SR8 for a later model to ensure he had the best possible equipment to do the job.  Back from a shoulder operation to defend his third place in the SR8 point score was John Corbett, with SR8 regulars Peter white, Neale Muston ,Greg Smith and Chris Medland. Chris Medland and Greg Smith would in fact share their Radical SR8 for the weekend each having one race and using the "Paper, Rock, Scissors" process to see who would drive in the third and final race on Sunday.
In the SR3 class, pointscore leader Michael Shaw was back along with most of the SR3 regulars Kim Burke, Peter Paddon, Peter Johnson, Phil Anseline, Rowan Ross, Aaron Lewis, David Crampton, Oliver Smith and Simon Haggerty. Missing was Simons father Tony Haggerty with business commitments and new to the grid after a break from Radicals was Richard Kimber, John Morriss, Kosta Pohorukov, Bill Medland and Richard Bloomfield.
Practice:  Friday was a busy day for the teams with Practice one commencing on a cold circuit at 8.15am to be the first category on track for the day, The forecast rain managed to stay away however generating tyre temp was a struggle for drivers until half way through the session. Tim Berryman topped the timesheet with 1.27.31 followed closely by Chris Medland, Neale Muston and John Corbett. Kim Burke showed his pace early with a 1.30.88 to lead the SR3 class pursued closely by Victorian John Morriss and local driver Peter Johnson. Peter would make contact with the wall at turn 5 later in the session which unfortunately brought his weekend to an early end with damage unable to be repaired in time for the qualifying sessions.
Qualifying One . The first of the two Qualifying sessions commenced at 10.15am giving teams a limited amount of time from practice one to make changes to their cars however it was again Points leader Tim Berryman on top with an impressive 1.25.84 ( less than one tenth from the lap record) to secure P1. Second was Neale Muston 1.26.00 followed by John Corbett registering a 1.27.85. Quickest in the SR3 was Michael Shaw 1.29.69 followed closely by Kim Burke 1.30.16 and third Peter Paddon 1.30.12, as the times would reflect the SR3 battle was incredibly close with John Morriss and Rowan Ross only 10ths of a second behind the top 3.
Qualifying Two:  Q2 mixed up the order a little with Neale Muston on top of the SR8 Class with a 1.26.09 followed by John Corbett, Peter White and Greg Smith, Tim Berryman experienced some fuel surge issues placing him in 5th place. This time round it was Peter Paddon leading the SR3’s with an impressive 1.29.68 followed closely by Michael Shaw, John Morriss and Kim Burke.
Race One: The first race saw the Radicals first up on the race program on a cold, but at least dry track for their 10 lap race. Neale Muston got the Jump from the rolling start followed closely by Tim Berryman, Tim continued to push Neale for the entire race closing to within a few seconds before the chequered flag came out one lap earlier than expected due to program timing. The order at the end for SR8 was Muston, Berryman, Corbett Medland whilst the SR3 battle was won by Michael Shaw followed closely by Kim Burke, and third Peter Paddon. As usual the SR3 class was so close with John Morriss less than half a car behind for fourth followed by Simon Haggerty, Rowan Ross, Richard Kimber and Richard Bloomfield. The “First Neon” supported SR8 of Peter White was a slow finisher with a car issue that would be later traced to a fuel relay and fortunately an easy fix.
Race Two:  Again Radicals were the first event for the program at 8.00 am and whilst it was not raining the teams were left with the difficult decision to determine what tyres to use on the mostly wet and cold circuit. Most of the teams elected to use the rain spec Dunlop control tyre but a couple of teams took the gamble and went for the slick tyre. The gamble would be that the rain tyre would be fast for the first few laps however as the track dried the slick would have the advantage. It was obvious from the two warm up laps before the cars faced the rolling start that it was very slippery with a couple of cars having a spin before the race commenced. Off the start it was John Corbett from his front row start who got the jump showing impressive speed into turn one, by turn three it was clear he was on a mission however by turn four it all went very wrong. Corbett crested the hill leading down to turn four and as the car went light and spun spearing off the road backwards and making heavy contact with the fence on the right, Neale Muston also found the grass in the same spot, with the remaining field narrowly avoiding the stranded Corbett car that had bounced back onto the circuit ending up in the middle of the track facing the wrong way. The safety car was quickly deployed and picked up the race leader Greg Smith whist emergency crews attended to Corbett. Sadly, that was the end of race 2 with a red flag and it being declared as a non-race due to the number of laps completed. John was extracted from the car and taken to the medical centre which is standard procedure for heavy impacts into the track fence. After a thorough check over John was later released however it would bring his weekend to an end.
Race Three:  The final 10 lap race was quick turnaround starting at 9.40 and delivered the usual close racing that the fans are used to from Radical Racing, and at least now it was a dry track. It was again Neale Muston who got the jump at the rolling start followed by Berryman and Peter white and that’s where it stayed for the entire 10 laps, at the end it was less than half a car that separated race winner Muston from Tim Berryman, there lap times were almost identical every lap. So the SR8 order in the end was Muston, Berryman, and White. SR3 driver Michael Shaw again proved he was the man to beat followed by Peter Paddon, and John Morriss. Oliver Smith put in a great result coming from the rear of the grid to fifth in the SR3 class. It was an impressive run also from Richard Kimber and Kosta Pohorukov given their time away from the category.
Thanks go to our series partners including First Neon, Youngcare, Dunlop and Energia Australia for their ongoing support of the Radical Category. Round 5 of the Radical Australia Cup will be at Phillip Island September 20-21, for more details visit www.radicalaustralia.com.au or the Shannon’s Nationals event website www.thenationals.com.au
Final Results for Round 5
1st Michael Shaw - 63
2nd Peter Paddon - 51
3rd Kim Burke - 48

1st Neale Muston - 62
2nd Tim Berryman - 54
3rd Peter White - 44

RAC 2014 Pointscore
Michael Shaw (SR3) - 382
Tim Berryman (SR8) - 372
Kim Burke (SR3) - 307.5
Peter Paddon (SR3) - 295
Neale Muston (SR8) - 291

Please note: Final results for the series will drop the worst round of each competitor.

For more images from the weekend, jump on our Facebook  www.facebook.com/radicalaustralia
For further information contact Rod Wilson rod@radicalaustralia.com.au
Photo Gallery
Click on an image above to view the complete gallery