24 April 2012

VICTORIA’S PHILLIP ISLAND Grand Prix circuit will be the host for round two of the 2012 Radical Australia Cup presented by MPA Projects this weekend – which is more than appropriate


VICTORIA’S PHILLIP ISLAND Grand Prix circuit will be the host for round two of the 2012 Radical Australia Cup presented by MPA Projects this weekend – which is more than appropriate.

Victoria has long been targeted as the next major growth area for Australia’s fastest growing one-make category and a round of the increasingly competitive Radical Australia Cup will be the ultimate showcase.

A showcase that, if the dramatic opening round is anything to go by, should provide for two thrilling 50-minute races on the 4.46km Grand Prix circuit in the first ‘bi-duro’ format of the season.

The Radicals will race as the key support to the Phillip Island 6-Hour Production Car race.

Round one winner Neale Muston swept both sprint races and the 50-minute enduro at Eastern Creek in March but will miss this weekends’ rounds due to business commitments.

The Sydneysider, driving his Radical SR3 Cup Car, was in impressive form on home turf but had to fend off reigning champion Ed Singleton in a thrilling finish.

It puts Singleton in an ideal position to capitalise and build on his early title defence given his prior form at the home of the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix; Singleton won the round held at the Island last April, scoring second and a win in the two races, respectively.

In fact, the list of drivers chasing Muston at the front of the pack all ran well at Phillip Island last year, Steve Shelley, Simon Haggarty, Glyn Edis, Greg Smith and Richard Bloomfield all featuring in the top ten of the second race.

They will all be part of a stacked 24-car field entered for this weekend’s round – up from the 17 that started last year.

Radical Team Melbourne’s Robert Baird and Gary Walker will team up to lead the Victorian charge as they attempt to stop the competitive group heading south of the border from winning on their turf.

This weekends’ round of the Radical Australia Cup will double as the opening round of the brand-new Radical Victoria Cup, a four-round state series Baird has developed for this season that includes the two RAC trips to Melbourne this year, plus two state rounds at Sandown.

“It’s exciting that the Radical Australia Cup is coming to Melbourne as it will double as the start of Radical Victoria cup,” Baird explained. 

“It is an Ideal advert for the category to have such a strong field - and we have four local teams participating when it was just me last year, so it’s really heading in a good direction.”

From a personal standpoint, Baird is also looking forward to hitting the track in what is the absolute latest of Radical technology.

“In 12 months I’ve gone from having the oldest car in the field to the absolute newest,” he said of his new SR3 Cup.

“I have the last of the cars brought into Australia this year so the boys in the workshop keep telling me I have the newest car in the country – it’s quite a turnaround!”

Following a private track / practice day Friday, on-track action commences on Saturday, April 28th with Qualifying, followed by the first 50-minute race in the afternoon. The second of two endurance races will be held on Sunday morning prior to the 6-Hour Production Car race commencing.

West Australian driver, Bryce Moore, set the fastest lap of the weekend last year at 1:34.6391s.

ENTRY LIST – Round 2, Radical Australia Cup presented by MPA Projects

1. Ed Singleton MPA Projects
5. Simon Haggarty Haggarty Racing Team
6. Tony Haggarty Haggarty Racing Team
7. Steve Shelley / Jake Shelley DEPUTY.com
8. George Pethard NEVCO Engineering
9. Chris Medland / Bill Medland Radical Australia
10. Geoff Brundson / Matt McGill Crown & Marks
11. Robert Baird / Gary Walker Radical Team Melbourne
14. Nathan Brumby / Daniel Reinhardt DEPUTY Radical Works Team
16. Phil Anseline / Oliver Smith WT Partnership
17. Peter Johnston PJS Air
21. Brett Sutton Radical Australia
27. Peter White First Neon
29. Andy Plummer Radical Australia
38. Graham Smith Lancefield Racing
44. Glyn Edis interior Developments
51. Andrew MacPherson / Ben Porter IMAK – KWIKMIT
55. Nic Stavropoulos AdLux
57. Richard Bloomfield Octane Events
70. Tony Palmer Radical Events
78. Greg Smith Radical Australia
88. Rowan Ross Radical Australia
89. Dane Stokes / Simon Baxter DBS Motorsport
90. Chris Stern / Daniel Richert Surf Coast Radical

Event Preview produced by Richard Craill - Race Torque Media  

Photo Gallery
We are busy preparing photos for this gallery, please come back later.