09 July 2013

THE biggest, toughest race in the history of the Radical Australia Cup (RAC) is now less than a week away. The First Neon Radical 250 will be held at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend within the fifth round of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals, and will feature the most unique race format yet seen during an RAC round, plus a host of 'pro' drivers drafted in to add some spice. Instead of the regular twin, 50-minute races contested at the majority of RAC rounds, the First Neon 250 will feature one race of 250km, split into two, 45-minute ‘back to back’ legs on Sunday morning.

Whilst this time around neither race will feature pit stops, a 25-minute window between races will allow teams to safely re-fuel and, if a second driver is nominated, perform a driver swap.

Several Radical Australia Cup regulars have drafted in gun support for the race, with ‘pro’ drivers to go head to head in the second leg of the 250. As a one off for this event the time penalty for ‘pro’ drivers has been changed to a single drive through, to be served by all confirmed pro drivers during the second leg.

Amongst the 23-car field are names including two-time Formula 3 champion, James Winslow (sharing with Chris Medland), V8 Supercar ace George Miedecke (Rowan Ross) and former international open wheel racing stars, Josh Hunt (Peter White) and Nathan Antunes (John Corbett).

Formula 3 young gun Jon Collins will team with his Radical-racing mum, Sue Hughes, whilst Ben Porter (Andrew Macpherson), Oliver Smith (Phil Anseline) and the father-and-son duo of George and Anthony Davis also feature amongst those entering the race with two driver combinations.

The event will include the Radical debut of Aussie Racing Cars frontrunner Peter Carr, who will share Peter Paddon’s SR3 making up what should be a formidable combination. 

The field includes eight of the brand new SR8 RX Radicals and a strong 15-car SR3 ‘Race within a race’ battle.

The format makes for a tantalising prospect of the SR8-driving trio of Winslow, Hunt and Antunes going head to head with the most dominant force in the series in recent times – Neale Muston – in the second leg, in what could prove a thrilling race.

Drivers will score championship points in both legs, however leg one will only count towards the championship should their car also finish leg two of the First Neon 250.

In a Radical Australia Cup first, both legs will feature a full championship rolling start offering an exciting spectacle as the big field rolls side by side down towards the super-quick first turn at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Neale Muston (SR8) leads SR3 driver Liam Talbot in the overall Radical Australia Cup standings, with Peter White (SR8), Andrew Macpherson (SR3) and Richard Kimber (SR8) completing the top five.

Talbot leads Macpherson and Greg Smith in the SR3 Cup class, Muston leading White and Kimber in the battle of the SR8s.

Both legs of the race will be broadcast live and free via the Shannons Nationals live internet streaming service, via , on Sunday morning.

Highlights of the racing action will the be shown on SBS Speedweek and SPEED TV Australia in coming weeks.  

Photo Gallery
Click on an image above to view the complete gallery